Dr. Anthony D. So

Director, Center for a Livable Future, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

Dr. Anthony So oversees a university-wide center that works to help build a healthier, more equitable, and resilient food system. He also directs the Strategic Policy program of ReAct—Action on Antibiotic Resistance. He has studied a range of issues on globalization and health, from tobacco control in low- and middle- income countries and access to health technologies to food systems.


Previously, Dr. So served as Professor of the Practice at Duke University’s Sanford School of Public Policy and was associate director of the Rockefeller Foundation’s Health Equity program. As Director of Duke’s Program on Global Health and Technology Access, he served on the Lancet Infectious Diseases Commission on Antibiotic Resistance and the Institute of Medicine’s Committee on Accelerating Rare Disease Research and Orphan Product Development, chaired a WHO expert working group on fostering innovation to combat antimicrobial resistance, and was part of the Antibiotic Resistance Working Group of the U.S. President’s Council of Advisors in Science and Technology. For UNICEF, he led a study analyzing the supply for delivering ready-to-use therapeutic foods to the Horn of Africa.


At the Rockefeller Foundation, he launched the Foundation’s first initiative on non-communicable diseases, “Trading Tobacco for Health,” focused on Southeast Asia. He also co-founded a cross-thematic program on charting a fairer course for intellectual property rights and shaped the foundation’s work on access to medicines policy in developing countries, including the strategy to lower the prices of patented HIV/AIDS drugs.


Trained as a general internist, Dr. So studied biomedical sciences and philosophy in a combined, six-year B.A.-M.D. program at the University of Michigan and earned a Master’s in Public Affairs from Princeton University as a Woodrow Wilson Scholar. He also served as a White House Fellow, an Aspen Institute Crown Fellow, and was a recipient of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Investigator Award in Health Policy Research.